Bible Reference
A concordance is a tool that allows you to look up biblical words (either in English or the original Hebrew or Greek) in order to assess how these words were used in various biblical passages.
A lexicon provides definitions and meanings of Biblical words found in the original New Testament Greek and Hebrew for the Hebrew Bible.
- Strong's Concordance with Hebrew and Greek LexiconsStrong’s concordance takes every single word of the King James Version and lists where each word can be found in the scriptures. Beside each verse reference there is a number. That number represents a Hebrew word (if in the Hebrew Bible) or Greek word (if in the New Testament). Keep in mind that while the Strong’s Concordance is fairly reliable in its lexicon definitions, it is relying on 19th century scholarship.
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by Call Number: PJ4833 .B76 2003ISBN: 9781565632066Publication Date: 1996-03-01
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Call Number: PA881 .D27 2000ISBN: 0226039331Publication Date: 2001-01-15Print Only
A Reader's Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780310269205Publication Date: 1999
Bible dictionaries will provide you with fuller discussions of particular words from the Bible. Each entry will provide an overview of the word and trace its usage and meaning historically.
- Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible - A-C by Call Number: BS440 .N445 2006ISBN: 0687054273Publication Date: 2006-12-01Print only.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195377378Publication Date: 2011-11-18
Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible: Digital Collection by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780197669402Publication Date: 2022
Bible Commentaries
Christ-Centered Exposition by Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781433609954Publication Date: VariousRather than a verse-by-verse approach, the authors have crafted chapters that explain and apply key passages in their assigned Bible books. It’s presented as sermons, divided into chapters that conclude with a “Reflect & Discuss” section.
Fortress Biblical Preaching Commentaries by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780800698713Publication Date: VariousThe following from this series are available in the Learning Commons as ebooks: John, Matthew, Mark, Acts of the Apostles.
Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780664234379Publication Date: Various
New Daily Study Bible, Complete Set by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780664263645Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Preaching the Gospels Without Blaming the Jews by Call Number: BS2555.54 .A45 2004 (print only)ISBN: 0664227635Publication Date: 2004-07-19
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture by Call Number: ebooksISBN: 9780830897490Publication Date: various
